super regionals are history

If you were looking for a College World Series field dominated by SEC and ACC teams, you’ve come to the wrong parity party, pal. Only one team from each of those conferences, which combined to place 17 teams in the field of 64, survived super regional weekend.

The 2016 super regionals will go down as the most exciting and improbable ever. Upsets were rampant, as unheralded upstarts went into the wildest of dens and came away with shocking results. Only three home teams emerged unscathed from the super regional round, and all three of their series went the full three games.

Florida, Miami and Texas Tech move on from the eight national seeds, while Louisville, South Carolina, LSU, Texas A&M and Mississippi State were all eliminated on their home field, most of them in unbelievable walk-off fashion.

College World Series Schedule

TD Ameritrade Park (Omaha, Nebraska)

Saturday, June 18
3 p.m. on ESPN2: UC Santa Barbara vs. Oklahoma State (Game 1)
8 p.m. on ESPN2: Arizona vs. Miami (Game 2)

Sunday, June 19
3 p.m. on ESPNU: TCU vs. Texas Tech (Game 3)
8 p.m. on ESPN2: Florida vs. Coastal Carolina (Game 4)

Monday, June 20
2 p.m. on ESPNU: Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser (Game 5)
7 p.m. on ESPN: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner (Game 6)

Tuesday, June 21
5 p.m. on ESPN2: Game 3 loser vs. Game 4 loser (Game 7)
8 p.m. on ESPN: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner (Game 8)

Wednesday, June 22
7 p.m. on ESPN: Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 loser (Game 9)

Thursday, June 23
8 p.m. on ESPN2: Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 loser (Game 10)

Friday, June 24
3 p.m. on ESPN2: Game 6 winner vs. Game 9 winner (Game 11)
8 p.m. on ESPN: Game 8 winner vs. Game 10 winner (Game 12)

Saturday, June 25
TBD: Game 6 winner vs. Game 9 winner (if necessary)
TBD: Game 8 winner vs. Game 10 winner (if necessary)

June 27-30
Championship series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.